Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Stanley Cup Knitting – Game 3

Posted by Andi on June 2, 2007

Today is Game 3 of the Stanley Cup Finals. The game starts in 2 1/2 hours, and yes, I do plan to knit this time. My goal is to finish the waist ties during the game. I don’t know if this is a realistic goal. The ties are only 5 stitches wide, but they have to be 51″ long. That doesn’t seem to me like it should take very long, but I often overestimate or underestimate the amount of time it will take me to knit something. I will be satisfied if one tie is finished, I will be happy if I can get part way through the second, and I will be thrilled if I can finish both.

I have a rule about buying not buying yarn (except for Tim’s gloves, which I’ve decided I want to complete by Hallowe’en) until the stash fits in my armoire, but that doesn’t mean I can’t buy knitting books. Tim and I were at Borders, and he found the book Pretty In Punk: 25 Punk, Rock, and Goth Knitting Projects by Alyce Benevides and Jaqueline Milles. Now, part of me was reluctant to buy this book because by selling it as a punk book, isn’t that exactly what punk would be against? I don’t know. I don’t care, because while there are plenty of patterns in this book I would never make, the ones I think are cute were *so* worth it. Look at this:

I *need* to make these arm warmers. Those of you who know me in real life would agree, I’m sure. I have more than my share of clothing items and shoes with skulls on them. Not only are they very me, but I can use stash yarn to make them! Yippee!!!

cute arm warmers + use of stash yarn = very happy me

One Response to “Stanley Cup Knitting – Game 3”

  1. elan said

    Love them! I’ll have to have a look at the book.

Leave a Reply

 
