Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

When real life cuts into my knitting time

Posted by Andi on April 29, 2007

I haven’t updated in a while, moreover, I haven’t knit in a while either. Other aspects of my life have cut into my knitting time. These include:

–Spending as much time as possible collecting data for my dissertation, and using the rest of my available time to go to work and make some money

–A dear friend came to visit for a week, and when I wasn’t collecing data or working I was hanging out with him

–I’ve been sick for almost a week, and with my energy zapped, I only did necessary actions, and yes, I deemed knitting unnecessary

–I’m still not motivated to work on Poinsettia.

So, there you go. But onto some actual knitting content. Our cable and internet connection was out for a few days this week, which gave me some time to listen to my ever growing backlog of downloaded podcasts. I was listening to episode 17 of Cast On (I know it’s over a year old, but when I discovered the podcast I liked it so much that I downloaded all of them and am desperately trying to catch up). The second essay was about the essayist’s grandmother, and how she used to knit sweaters for the grandchildren. This essay got me thinking about my own grandmother.

My grandmother didn’t know how to knit, but she was very excited when I learned how to knit. She couldn’t believe how well I caught on, and how much I loved it and kept up with it. She wanted to see everything I made, and fawned over all of my finished objects. She started asking me to make her things, mainly hats or head coverings for winter. I had the intention to make her something, but there were so many other projects in the pipeline, many that I had to finish within a certain time frame, that I never got around to it.

In February of 2006 my grandmother, who already had emphysema, was diagnosed with lung cancer. If I were going to knit her something, I had to start on it right away. I was visiting her shortly after her diagnosis, and I asked her what her favorite colors were. Red, white, and black. I went home and looked for blanket patterns using three colors. I found one, and bought skeins of Lion Brand Homespun, and started working on the blanket. My grandmother spent a week in the hospital, and when I visited her I brought the blanket to show her my progress. She thought it was very pretty and soft, and I could tell she was excited by it. I toyed with not showing it to her until it was finished, but I decided against it. It’s a good thing, too, because my grandmother passed away before I could finish the blanket.

I still regret the fact that I was unable to give a finished object to the one person who was the most proud of my new hobby. After she died I decided to finish the blanket and give it to charity, but I just couldn’t pick up the needles and work on it. This may be selfish, but I just couldn’t give my grandma’s blanket to someone else. I couldn’t even bring myself to work on it. It was her’s, not someone else’s. So it sits there in the bag that I used as my knitting tote, half finished. A couple of months ago I took the unused skeins from her blanket out of the tote and into my stash armoire. I think my grandma wouldn’t want the yarn to go to waste. But I still have the unfinished blanket. I don’t know what I will ever do with it.

Leave a Reply

 
