Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

I’ve lost my motivation

Posted by Andi on April 2, 2007

I haven’t worked on Poinsettia in weeks. I put it down to work on the iPod cozy (which I don’t use) and haven’t picked it up since. Before that I wasn’t very keen on it, and working on it was a chore.

I wonder why this is. So far I like the way the sweater is turning out. I think it will look funky, and I am looking forward to wearing it. If I don’t finish it soon, however, I won’t be able to wear it until next fall.

I’m much more excited about starting some socks or *finally* starting Lys. And I know what anyone who may be reading this must be thinking: “So, Andi, why don’t you put Poinsettia down and start a project you are more excited about?” The answer is, “Because I won’t ever pick it back up.”

I know this to be true. There are two other incomplete projects sitting around my apartment. One I started probably two years ago, the other I worked on last year. Neither is finished, and I have no plans to pick either of them back up any time soon. One I think I will get around to eventually, but I think I am just going to frog the other. If I don’t finish Poinsettia soon, it will suffer the same fate as these other projects. This would be a shame, because as I said before, I’m looking forward to wearing this sweater, unlike the sweater I plan to frog.

So tonight I’m going to make myself work on Poinsettia. I’m a good way through the second sleeve, and once I’m done with that, the knitting of major pieces will be complete! All that will be left is knitting the trim, the ties, and sewing seams. It’s not much. If it’s good maybe I can even wear it for Easter! (Yeah, I’m the sort of girl who would wear a black and fuschia sweater on Easter.) Then I can feel good about moving onto other projects.

In other news, I believe I’m going to start a knitting journal. A real journal. A paper journal. I’m still pondering that.

Leave a Reply

 
