Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

I really need to pay more attention to what I buy

Posted by Andi on March 3, 2007

Back in I think it was December I bought my first ball of sock yarn. I hadn’t intended to buy it, nor was I even considering making socks at the time. I was in one of my LYSs, and there it was, calling me. The colorway was beautiful, the yarn felt so nice in my fingers. I just wanted to eat it up. So, of course, I had to buy it. I didn’t even look at the label brand on the label, I just looked at the yardage and the price tag. I wasn’t even thinking about making socks. It wasn’t as if I went into the store and thought, “Gee, I think I should start knitting socks, perhaps I should find some sock yarn in here!” Oh no. I found this yarn and thought, “I need to have this yarn, thus I think it’s time I try knitting some socks.”

Flash forward to this afternoon. As I’m sure you can tell, this is a new blog. Although I have been knitting for a few years I have not really become a member of the online knitting community. I’m hoping to change that in the near future. Anyway, I recently started listening to knitting podcasts. Recently meaning I started listening to them last week. You can see which podcasts I have started listening to on the left side of this page. (By the way, if you know of any other knitting podcasts I should check out let me know.) I like these podcasts so much that I have downloaded all of the ones that are available, and started listening to them in order, starting with the oldest one I have. I’m listening to them frantically trying to catch up. I figure this is fruitless, but I’m trying.

About 30 minutes ago I started listening to episode 2 of Lime and Violet. They spent the beginning of the podcast talking about Trekking yarn and how much they loved it. Of course I had to see what this was, since I’m starting to gear up and make some socks. I found pictures of Trekking yarn online and thought, “Hmm, this looks familiar.” I went into my bedroom where I keep my stash and found that ball of sock yarn I bought.

Guess what it was. Trekking Pro Natura yarn color 1600. I’m sure most knitters out there would have known whether or not they owned Trekking yarn as soon as they heard Lime and Violet talk about it. But not me. Oh no. I’m oblivious.

Leave a Reply

 
