Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Stash Enhancement Adjustment

Posted by Andi on July 29, 2014

If you’ve been reading this blog this year you know that in an effort to reduce my stash I’ve been keeping track of how many yards of yarn I knit as well as how many yards of yarn I purchase acquire. My goal is that, by the end of the year, I will have knit more yards than I acquire. I’ve been pretty good about sticking to my yarn buying rules (either have a pattern in mind, or it must be bought at a yarn festival or from an indie dyer, or souvenir yarn, or yarn I can’t easily get at home).

I have been knitting along nicely, finishing many projects and I have several WIPs. But in the past couple of weeks I’ve acquired some new yarn. It’s time for me to be accountable and add some new yards into the “acquired” total.

First, I received my package from the Puck This! Off Season Swap on Ravelry. In my package, not only did my lovely swap partner make me a beautiful orange market bag, but she also included this lovely yarn.

Blue Ridge Yarns Footlights in Blue Lagoon

This is Blue Ridge Yarns Footlights in the Blue Lagoon colorway. There are four mini skeins of 100 yards each. If you look at the bottom of the picture, you can see that there are two different shades of green (one on each end) and two skeins of navy blue. Keeping the skeins separate allows the knitter to determine for himself or herself how thick the stripes will be. Isn’t that cool?! I will separate the greens with a stripe of the blue. What I haven’t figured out yet is what I want to make. I’m not sure if I want to do socks or a scarf or a cowl. I kind of want to make all three. What would you make?

The second bit of stash enhancement comes courtesy of the Doctor Who Companion Sock Club by Pandia’s Jewels and Javapurl Designs. The yarn arrived on July 21st, and I received the pattern a few days later. Those of you who know me will know why I was so excited when I opened the yarn.

Pandia's Jewels Yarn Snug in Spoilers

Yes, there is some pink, but for the most part… BLACKHAWKS COLORS!!! The colorway is called Spoilers, and the pattern was inspired by River Song. I love the pattern and the yarn, and I can’t wait to knit this up.

So, now onto the calculations. These two skeins of yarn total 862 yards, bringing my total yarn procurement in 2014 to 4,719 yards. As of when I’m typing this post, I’ve knit a total of 5,477.1 yards. That means I’ve knit 116% of the yards I have acquired. I am quite proud that I added a fair amount of yarn to my stash, and I’m still ahead. While the total knit includes some projects that I have knit and haven’t posted, it does not include three WIPs I am currently working on, as well as a frogged project that I started and decided I didn’t like.

One Response to “Stash Enhancement Adjustment”

  1. […] and August are clearly Stash Enhancement Time. I have already posted about the yarn I got in the swap and my first yarn club installment. Well, that was just the […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

