Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

I Need To Use a Lifeline

Posted by Andi on February 15, 2014

My travel knitting project is the Grand Army Plaza Shawl. It’s the perfect travel project because the lace weight yarn cakes up so small that it’s really portable – even more portable than socks!

Well, until this happens.

Uh oh. #knitting #oops

I dropped a stitch somewhere, and didn’t notice it for several rows. Because I’ve only been working on this while traveling I don’t have any lifelines in it. I can’t bring the items I need to make a lifeline on the plane. Of course, it didn’t occur to me to put the lifelines in once I got home.

The other problem I’m having with this project is the needles – they aren’t sharp enough. I use wood needles when I travel, and the tips are pretty blunt. That make p3tog difficult, and that’s probably what led to the dropped stitch.

So I’m debating this. I will be traveling this week. I need to start this project over. Do I have the motivation to go to the LYS and see if I can get a sharper needle, or do I soldier on with the blunt needle and try to be more careful? Am I annoyed enough to put this project in time out and start something else? The pattern for this project is in a book and I have a lot to pack – do I start a project with a more portable pattern?

I don’t know. But I do know I have to frog this now.

2 Responses to “I Need To Use a Lifeline”

  1. I feel your pain, knitting lace can be so stressful. Will you have to frog it completely?

    • Andi said

      I probably could have ripped back to a garter stitch section, but it would have been so far back that it would have saved little time compared to frogging the whole thing. I did frog it, and actually started a different project. I will be posting about it next weekend.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

