Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Diagonal Scarf

Posted by Andi on February 9, 2014

A few weeks ago one of the members of my knit group discussed how she had donated some belongings to a homeless shelter. She asked them what else they needed, and they said they needed scarves. She asked us if, as a group, we wanted to make scarves for the homeless shelter. Of course we did!!

I immediately started thinking about my stash and whether I had enough of any one yarn to make a scarf. I have a few skeins of Lion Brand Wool Ease, but none of the skeins were long enough for a scarf. I thought about using two colors, but we were told that the clients at the shelter don’t like having scarves in bright colors so as to not draw attention to themselves.

Then I remembered the dark blue Plymouth Encore yarn that is in my stash. It was yarn I received when someone donated yarn to our knit group. This yarn was donated to us, so I thought I should use it to make a scarf I was donating. I hope the original owner of the yarn, who had passed away (hence the donation), would be happy with that.

Like most knitters I’m sure, I have a ton of scarf patterns. I finally found one I liked in my 2007 Pattern a Day calendar. Here is what I came up with.

Diagonal Scarf
Pattern: Silk Diagonal Scarf by Marcie Good
Yarn: Plymouth Encore Worsted Solids & Heathers in #354, 1 skein
Needles: US 7
Date started: January 24, 2014
Date completed: February 8, 2014

The photo isn’t true to color. The blue is darker, and what you can’t see is that the yarn is heathered. The color isn’t quite solid.

The scarf is a bit narrow, but I made it long enough that it could be wrapped around someone’s neck twice. I used the entire skein of yarn. I just kept knitting until I had just enough to bind off. I have another skein of the yarn and thought about using both, but that would have been an extremely long scarf.

One Response to “Diagonal Scarf”

  1. […] Diagonal Scarf […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

