Knitstant Gratification

The crafting adventures of a knitter, music lover, and hockey fan.

Wherein Tim gets new gloves

Posted by Andi on January 25, 2014

In my attempt to be frugal, especially where knitting is concerned, I’m making a concerted effort to use patterns I already own and yarn from my stash where possible. Sure, there are tons of free patterns out there, but I own so many already that I want to use what I have where I can. That’s not to say I will not buy a new pattern or new yarn. I mean, I’m not going to use just any fingering weight yarn for any sock pattern. I want the yarn and pattern to match well. However, I’m just trying to see if I can find that perfect match up with items I already have.

So when Tim wore a ton of holes into the gloves I made him a few years back, I started searching my pattern library for a pattern for men’s gloves. Once I found a few, I searched my stash to see if I had any yarn that would work well with the various patterns I found. Here’s what I came up with.

Go Anywhere Gloves
Pattern: Go Anywhere Gloves by Kristin Spurkland
Yarn: Fiber Optic Yarns Foot Notes in Sapphire Batik, .45 skein
Needles: US 2 and US 3
Date started: January 18, 2014
Date completed: January 25, 2014

I bought this yarn last year when Frances and I went to The Fold instead of Greencastle because of flooding. I bought this yarn with Tim in mind. He loves bright blue. I figured I would make him a pair of socks out of this yarn, but when I found a glove pattern that used fingering weight yarn I figured this would be as good of a use for this yarn as any.

One thing I didn’t particularly like about this pattern is that it used fingering weight yarn, but the main part of the glove is knit with a size 3 needle. The resulting fabric isn’t very dense, and when the glove stretches a bit on the hand it can be drafty. The last pair of gloves I made for Tim were made out of worsted weight yarn and size 4 needles, making a thick and non-drafty fabric. However, these gloves aren’t Tim’s primary source of warmth. Tim wears a thin glove for dexterity. These new gloves will be worn over the thin gloves for a bit of extra warmth. Since that’s the case, these work out great. But if he didn’t have a layer under them, they would let too much cold air in.

He seems to really like them, and likes the fact that most of the blue part of the yarn is the same color as the Tardis. Overall, success!!

2 Responses to “Wherein Tim gets new gloves”

  1. […] Wherein Tim gets new gloves […]

  2. […] got so much out of this one skein of sock yarn. First, I made Tim a new pair of gloves. Then I made a hexipuff. I still had a lot of yarn left over, so I figured I could make some […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

